This award is a highlighted lecture at the Annual Scientific Meeting that provides an update on a topic of clinical importance to health care professionals. The award was named in honor of Dr. Seymour Solomon, a past President of the American Headache Society and past Chairman of the American Council for Headache Education.

Congratulations to the 2024 recipient!

Kathleen B. Digre, MD, FAHS
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Past Recipients

2023 - Elizabeth Seng, PhD, FAHS

All Migraine Management is Behavior

2022 - Larry Charleston IV, MD, MS, FAHS

Black Patients Matter in Headache Medicine: Exploration of Race, Racism, Race-based Headache Disparities and Professional Ethics

2021 - Scott W. Powers, PhD, FAHS

What is… “Getting Better?”

2020 - R. Allan Purdy, MD, FAHS

Observations 2020 – ‘Teaching Headache’

2019 – Elizabeth W. Loder, MD, MPH, FAHS

Time’s Up: Headache Medicine in the #MeToo Era

2018 – Deborah Friedman, MD, MPH, FAHS

Under Pressure

2017 – Ann I. Scher, PhD, FAHS

Medication Overuse Headache: An Epidemiologist’s View

2016 – Dawn C. Buse, PhD, FAHS

Migraine and Stress

2015 - Andrew D. Hershey, MD, PhD, FAHS

Changes in Migraine in the Developing Child: What Does it Teach Us?

2014 - Richard B. Lipton, MD, FAHS

Riding the Migraine Roller Coaster: Lessons from Longitudinal Studies

2012 - Fabrizio Benedetti, MD

Placebo Responses: How Therapeutic Rituals Change the Patient’s Brain

2011 - Michael A. Moskowitz, MD, FAHS

Migraine, Man, Mice, Mutations, and Mechanisms

2010 - Shuu-Jiun Wang, MD

Heavily T2-weighted MR Myelography in Spontaneous Intracranial Hypotension

2008 - Gretchen E. Tietjen, MD

The Role of the Vascular Endothelium in Migraine

2007 - Peter J. Goadsby, MD, PhD, FAHS

Trigeminal Autonomic Cephalalgias – Things I’ve Learnt

2006 - Andrew C. Charles, MD, FAHS

Imaging Cellular Mechanisms of Migraine

2005 - Hans-Christoph Diener, MD, PhD

From Single Patients to the Science of Headache

2004 - Seymour Solomon, MD

Migraine 2000 BC to 2000 AD