Program Agenda
Previous Classes

The American Headache Society’s Emerging Leaders Program is designed to identify and develop future leaders within the Society. We are encouraging young medical professionals to enter and thrive not only in the field of headache medicine, but within the American Headache Society.


Participants will learn about opportunities within the Society to serve on committees, participate in special projects and American Migraine Foundation activities. They will engage with mentors who are leaders in the society and headache medicine, interact with others and lay the groundwork for long-lasting and fulfilling relationships, networking opportunities and collaborations.


The American Headache Society’s 2021 Emerging Leaders Program
Preliminary Agenda*

*Schedule subject to change

9:00 am – 9:15 am Welcome, Introductions and Organizational Overview
Kathleen B. Digre, MD, FAHS
9:15 am – 11:15 am Context of Leadership
Mary Ann Berzins, MBA, FCIPD, SPHR-SCP
11:15 am – 12:15 pm Psychology of Leadership
Steven Baskin, PhD
12:15 pm – 12:30 pm Morning Wrap-up
12:30 pm – 1:30 pm Lunch Break
1:30 pm – 2:15 pm Social Media, Promotion and Advocacy
Rashmi B. Halker Singh, MD, FAHS
2:15 pm 3:15 pm Introduction to DEI Work
Cynthia E. Armand, MD
Rebecca E. Wells, MD, MPH, FAHS
3:15 pm – 3:45 pm Project Review and Mentors / Summary and Next Steps
Kathleen B. Digre, MD, FAHS
3:45 pm – 4:00 pm Break
4:00 pm – 6:00 pm Speaker Training Session
Scott C. Litin, MD, FAHS

This year’s program will take place on Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at the JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa in Scottsdale, AZ. Participants will receive complimentary registration and expenses paid for the 2021 Scottsdale Headache Symposium.

Candidate Criteria

  • Must be an AHS member in good standing for at least 1 year
  • Must be within 7 years of having completed training
  • Can currently be a 4th year Resident or Active Fellow
  • Must commit to completing an agreed-upon project to present at the 64th Annual Scientific Meeting in Denver, CO

Application and Supporting Materials

Applicants must complete the online application form and provide the following supporting materials:

  • Letter of Interest demonstrating your interest in organizational leadership, affiliations, positions held (volunteer or paid), academic appointments and other relevant information
  • Letter of support from an active AHS member
  • CV

Thank you for your interest in the 2021 Emerging Leader’s Program. The application period has passed. Applicants will be notified of final acceptance on or about Monday, September 27, 2021.



Olivia Begasse de Dhaem, MD Rashmi Rao, MD
Jaclyn Duvall, MD Jennifer Robblee, MD, MS
Lauren Natbony, MD Kevin Weber, MD


Franchesca Fiorito, MD Serena L. Orr, MD
Jessica Kiarashi, MD Anna Pace, MD
Deena Kuruvilla, MD Adam S. Sprouse Blum, MD
Barbara L. Nye, MD


Cynthia Armand, MD Thomas Berk, MD
Meghan Candee, MD, MS Carrie Dougherty, MD, FAHS
Jessica Gautreaux, MD Niushen Zhang, MD


Mark Burish, MD, PhD Zubair Ahmed, MD
Sarah K. Gibbons, DO Juliana VanderPluym, MD
Katherine Hamilton, MD Nada Hindiyeh, MD
Angeliki Vgontzas, MD


A. Laine Green, MD Rashmi Halker, MD
Christina Szperka, MD Umer Najib, MD
Larry Charleston, MD Chelsea Hesterman, MD