Seymour Solomon Lecture Award

Seymour Solomon was born in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 1924 and received his primary and secondary education there. After graduating from Marquette University School of Medicine (now the Medical College of Wisconsin), he trained in internal medicine at Mount Sinai Hospital in Milwaukee. He completed a residency in neurology at Montefiore Hospital and then became Director of Neurology at Philadelphia General Hospital. Following his two years as a captain in the Air Force at Maxwell Air Force Base Hospital in Alabama, he returned to Montefiore as Associate Chief of Neurology. The remainder of his career was at Montefiore Hospital and the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in various roles. He was Director of EEG, acting chief of the department, and Vice Chairman of Neurology. After Dr. Arnold Friedman’s retirement, Dr. Solomon became Director of the Montefiore Headache Unit in 1980 until his retirement in 2009.

Dr. Solomon had faculty appointments at Temple University and Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. He is Professor of Neurology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Dr. Solomon has written more than 200 scientific papers, book chapters, and reviews. He is the author of The Headache Book for the lay population. His particular interests are the clinical aspects of headache including diagnosis, classification, and definition of unusual headache syndromes, as well as clinical trials. Dr. Solomon initiated and was abstracts editor of the journal Headache.

Dr. Solomon has held many positions in the American Headache Society®, including President, and is a past chairman of the American Council for Headache Education.

He is a fellow of the American Academy of Neurology, fellow and regent member of the American Headache Society®, and fellow of the American Neurological Association. Dr. Solomon is a member of the American Pain Society, the Association for Research in Nervous and Mental Diseases, the International Association for the Study of Pain, the International Headache Society and the World Federation of Neurology. Dr. Solomon has received awards from the National Headache Foundation, the American Council for Headache Education, the American Headache Society®, and the Staff and Alumni Association of Montefiore, and was the physician honoree of “Montefiore 2000.” Dr. Solomon has been a frequent invited lecturer in the United States and other countries.

Congratulations to the 2020 recipient!

R. Allan Purdy, MD, FAHS
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Past Recipients

2019 – Elizabeth W. Loder, MD, MPH, FAHS

Time’s Up: Headache Medicine in the #MeToo Era

2018 – Deborah Friedman, MD, MPH, FAHS

Under Pressure

2017 – Ann I. Scher, PhD, FAHS

Medication Overuse Headache: An Epidemiologist’s View

2016 – Dawn C. Buse, PhD, FAHS

Migraine and Stress

2015 - Andrew D. Hershey, MD, PhD, FAHS

Changes in Migraine in Developing Child: What Does it Teach Us?

2014 - Richard B. Lipton, MD, FAHS

Riding the Migraine Roller Coaster: Lessons from Longitudinal Studies

2012 - Fabrizio Benedetti, MD

Placebo Responses: How Therapeutic Rituals Change the Patient’s Brain

2011 - Michael A. Moskowitz, MD, FAHS

Migraine, Man, Mice, Mutations, and Mechanisms

2010 - Shuu-Jiun Wang, MD

Heavily T2-weighted MR Myelography in Spontaneous Intracranial Hypotension

2008 - Gretchen E. Tietjen, MD

The Role of the Vascular Endothelium in Migraine

2007 - Peter J. Goadsby, MD, PhD, FAHS

Trigeminal Autonomic Cephalalgias – Things I’ve Learnt

2006 - Andrew Charles, MD

Imaging Cellular Mechanisms of Migraine

2005 - Seymour Solomon, MD

Migraine 2000 BC to 2000 AD