"Frontiers in Headache Research" Scholarship Award

The American Headache Society will award up to 10 recipients of the “Frontiers in Headache Research” Scholarship Award during the 2018 Scientific Meeting in help in San Francisco from June 28 to July 1, 2018. Winners will receive complimentary meeting registration and are eligible to receive a stipend of up to $1,000 for reimbursement of expenses for hotel, travel and meals not provided during the Symposium. Winners will also receive a one-year AHS Trainee membership if not already a member of AHS, or a one-year extension of their existing AHS Trainee membership.

Winners will be selected based on the quality of his or her research proposal or study and the potential for the proposal, study or thesis to contribute to the advancement of the field of headache medicine. Applicants must be a Headache Medicine Fellow, Resident and or post-doctoral fellow who is in preparatory, active or completion phase of a basic or clinical research project that is related to headache or cranial nociception. Applicants must not have won an AHS scholarship within the past two years. Past winners within two years are not eligible to apply.

The top three selected will be required to present their proposal or results to attendees at the 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting on Friday, June 29, 2018, from 1:00 to 1:15 p.m. All other recipients will be required to submit a poster for display at the 2018 Annual Scientific

Past Scholarship Award Winners

Scottsdale 2017

Matthew K. Banks, DO
Chia-Chun Chiang, MD
Michelle Evans, DO
Caitlin Holtby, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Andrew W. Hurd, MD
Shema J. Mathew, MD
Danny A. Monsour, MD
Jason Nazar, DO

Boston 2017

William Renthal, MD, PhD
Sophie Wilcox, PhD
Claire Sandoe, MD, MSc
Angeliki Vgontzas, MD
Paula Barbisan, DDS, PhD
Melanie Truong, Do, OD
Bruno Pradler, PhD
Seniha Ozudogru, MD

Scottsdale 2016

Rebecca Barmherzig, MD
Ian Crain, MD
Jennifer Hranilovich, MD
William Kingston, MD, FRCPC
Hadas Nahman-Averbuch, PhD
Stacy Smith, MD
Harjasleen Walia, MD
Christopher Walker, PhD
Maggie Waung, MD, PhD
Jerry Wei, MD

San Diego 2016

Ashhar Ali, Do
Cynthia Armand, MD
Olivia Begasse de Dhaem, MD
Sajedeh Eftekhari, PhD
Noah Gross, PhD
Suzanne Hagler, MD
Seyedali Hejazi, MD
Chelsea Hesterman, MD
Adam Sprouse Blum, MD
Julio Vieira, MD, MS
LInh Vu, BA

Scottsdale 2015

Zubair Ahmed, MD
Thomas Berk, MD
Abigail L. Chua, DO
Jessica Dawlaty, PhD
Megan Bennet Irby, PhDc, MS
Hida del Carmen Nierenburg, MD
Meabh O'Hare, MD
Nathaniel Schuster, MD
Levi Sowers, PhD
Juliana VanderPluym, MD, FRCPC
Treasach Christiane Vargas, DO
Kevin Weber, MD, MHA
Cristina Wohlgehagen, MD
Shuhan Zhu, MD

Washington 2015

Hannah Johnson, BS, MD Candidate
Serena L. Orr, MD, MSc Candidate
Homa Sadeghian, MD

Scottsdale 2014

Carlos Escasena MD
Dr. Alexandra J Faber MSc MB ChB FRCPC (Pediatrics)
Melissa L. Rayhill, MD
Roni Sharon M.D.
Los Angeles 2014 Nelli Boykoff, MD
Catherine Chong, PhD
Mia Minen, MD, MPH
Punam Sawant-Pokam, PhD

Scottsdale 2013

A. Laine Green, MD
Jakob Møller Hansen, MD, PhD
Dan Kaufmann, PhD
Amy R. Tso, MD

IHC 2013

Serapio M. Baca, PhD
Deepak K. Bhatt, MS (Pharm)
Nathan T. Fried
Sajedeh Eftekhari, PhD(c)
K. Ibrahimi, MSc
Eric A. Kaiser, MD, PhD(c)
Margarida Martins Oliveira, PhD(c)

Scottsdale 2012

Shivang Joshi, MD, MPH, RPH
Lydia Vermeer, PhD

Los Angeles 2012

Rebecca Burch, MD
Jelena Pavlovic, MD, PhD
Christoph Schankin, MD
Huma Sheikh, MD

Scottsdale 2011

Brandon Aylward, PhD
Meghan S. Candee, MD, MS
Adelene Jann, MD
Mollie Johnston, MD
Cynthia L. Mayer, DO, MS

DC 2011

Andrea Harriott, MD, PhD Student
Jan Hoffmann, MD, PhD student
Kaveer Nandigam, MD
Larus Gudmundsson, MSc, PhD
Lauren Baillie, MA, PhD candidate
Nasim Maleki, PhD