Early Career Award

This award is for the best paper on headache, head or face pain, or the nature of pain itself written by an “early career” author. The recipient must be within 10 years of completing their graduate medical education (end of residency or fellowship, whichever ended last) or terminal research degree (whichever date is later) *. The paper may be concerned with basic research, clinical studies or both and must include new data to be considered for the award. The recipient will present the paper as a special lecture during the Annual Scientific Meeting.

*Some individuals may have lapses in their training due to a variety of reasons such as medical issues, disability, family care responsibilities, military service, or other reasons. On a case-by-case basis, the AHS Awards Committee will consider extending the definition of “early career” beyond 10 years since training has been completed.

Congratulations to the 2021 recipient!

Rebecca Erwin Wells, MD, MPH, FAHS
Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Past Recipients

2020 - Nazia Karsan, MBBS, PhD

Alterations in Functional Connectivity During Different Phases of the Triggered Migraine Attack

2019 - Elizabeth Seng, PhD, FAHS

Does Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy for Migraine Reduce Migraine-related Disability in People with Episodic and Chronic Migraine? A Phase 2b Pilot Randomized Clinical Trial